Search



RSS Feed

 

Subscribe Here

New Storm Worm Blogspot/Blogger Campaign - superdrugtesting.com

April 6th, 2008 by Steven Adair

You might have received some e-mails in the last few hours that link to some strange looking blogspot.com pages. A recent example I received a few hours ago pointed me to hxxp://aflmdiovanrd.blogspot.com/. The webpage then wants you to click to download files named “love.exe” or “withlove.exe“, as previously seen with the Valentine’s Day Storm Worm attack.

They are now using a new domain name for their fast-flux network. Each of these URLs presently links to “superdrugtesting.com” followed by the aforementioned binary names. They haven’t used an actual domain name or Google’s Blogger service with these attacks since the Christmas/New Year time frame. Looks like they are back at it again with a new technique.

Here’s a screen shot of what the page looks like:

click to enlarge

Be on the look out for these e-mails and consider blocking “superdrugtesting.com” from your networks if possible. Since this domain name is part of a fast-flux network, you must block it by the domain and not IP address as there are thousands of them.

Edit: Let me add that if you were infected with this run of the Storm Worm or the recent Valentine’s Day campaign they did, you would most likely have “aromis.exe” running in your taskbar (not hidden this time) and it will reside in your root WINDOWS folder.

Posted in Malware, Spam, Storm Worm |

Leave a Comment

Please note: Comment moderation is enabled and may delay your comment. There is no need to resubmit your comment.